  | |  | Re: Taking Action [FormerIy- "am not sure if you folks noticed this be | Re: Taking Action [FormerIy- "am not sure if you folks noticed this be 2005-11-01 - By ccoles_avengers
Back --- In Carrara@(protected), Peter MacDougall <pem@(protected)> wrote: > > A couple of thoughts come immediately to mind: > > doesn't this person have to be a member to get the postings in the first > place? > > and this is likely a violation of the terms of agreement with Yahoo and > so Yahoo should be pursuing this person and anyone else "re-branding" > Yahoo content.
That sounds reasonable to me, Peter. It does sound like he is breaking an agreement with Yahoo, particularly since this group is considered a "private" Yahoo! Group as opposed to a "public" one which people can read posts from without being a member.
Here is also what the Yahoo! Guidelines state:
5) "You may not use Yahoo! Groups for commercial or advertising purposes."
<http://groups.yahoo.com/local/guidelines.html>
And here is what the Yahoo! Universal Anti-Spam Policy says:
" The following are some examples of spamming that may violate the Terms of Service and Yahoo!'s Universal Spam Policy:
# Relaying email from a third party's mail servers without the permission of that third party.
# Using or causing to be used Yahoo! computer systems to facilitate the transmission of unsolicited or unauthorized material. This includes any promotional materials, URLs, "junk mail," "chain letters," "pyramid schemes," or any other form of unauthorized solicitation that you may upload, post, email, transmit, or otherwise make available."
<http://docs.yahoo.com/info/guidelines/spam.html>
The key phrases here are "some examples" and "facilitate the transmission of". This person is definitely using this Yahoo! group to facilitate transmissions of our posts to his site. And he is definitely using his site for advertisement purposes by pulling people in through posting our messages on his site. The people searching on the Web (e.g. - Google) for certain 3D topics, get hits for OUR posts that are on his repeater site and go there, where they get to see the topics *along* with his advertisements on his repeater site. So I think this is being done under the guise of intellectual camaraderie and learning when it only is serving pure advertising interests.
Actually if you read the bottom of the Yahoo! Guidelines page, the management encourages people to contact them if there is an indication of abuse on the list. Here is the link:
<http://add.yahoo.com/fast/help/us/groups/cgi_abuse>
I am going to see what I can do, but I think that if several of us send messages re: this same problem, it would have more impact.
I'll let you know how things go.
Cheers.
Claudia "Selocic" - 3D: when 'Flat' just isn't good enough! -
> > ccoles_avengers wrote: > > Hi Bernard, > > > > No, I haven't seen this link and I have searched on other domains name > > query sites and found nothing. So this is definitely a good lead. > > Thanks. > > > > Ringo, do you think something can be done about contacting this person > > and letting him or her know about our sentiments re: reposting our > > messages without permission on their website? It seems that it is > > time for this sort of irresponsible behaviour to stop. > > > > Cheers. > > > > Claudia > > "Selocic" > > - 3D: when 'Flat' just isn't good enough! - > > > > --- In Carrara@(protected), "Bernard Davis" <bdavis@(protected)> wrote: > > > >>Hi, > >> > >> > >> > >>If you visit this link: > >> > >> > >> > >>http://amail.co.uk/cgi-bin/adetails.pl?domain=5341.com > >><http://amail.co.uk/cgi-bin/adetails.pl?domain=5341.com&brand=amail> > >>&brand=amail > >> > >> > >> > >>Near the bottom of the page you should see information about the > > > > registrant > > > >>for the domain 5341. > >> > >>Hillsborough NJ - which I assume is New Jersey? > >> > >> > >> > >>Regards, > >> > >>Bernard D > >> > >> > >> > >> __ __ > >> > >>From: Carrara@(protected) [mailto:Carrara@(protected)] On > > > > Behalf Of > > > >>ccoles_avengers > >>Sent: 31 October 2005 06:09 > >>To: Carrara@(protected) > >>Subject: [Carrara] Re: I am not sure if you folks noticed this before, > >>but... > >> > >> > >> > >>Hi "kentcshum", > >> > >>--- In Carrara@(protected), "kentcshum" <kentcshum@(protected)> wrote: > >> > >>>check this site out: http://3d.5341.com/1.html > >>> > >>>Aren't messages in Yahoo groups supposed to be private? > >> > >> > >>Well, "in theory", they are supposed to be. > >> > >> > >> > >>>Or am I missing something? > >> > >> > >>No, you're not. Unfortunately, the only person who is missing > >>something is the individual who is repeatedly reposting our messages > >>to his or her website without any regard to the wishes of the members > >>from this list to not have them posted there. But this has been going > >>on for quite some time and currently, it seems that the person who is > >>doing this is hard to track down. > >> > >>So my best advice for you would be to not post any personal > >>information in any of your posts to this list. No open email > >>addresses in your messages or signature, no telephone numbers, etc. > >>Only post what you feel you want the entire world to see because now, > >>with our messages being repeated on that site, it is no longer a > >>"closed" list but is indeed an open one for the whole world to read. > >>It's sad that this person feels that they must continually do this to > >>our list but I guess they feel that other people do the same thing > >>with similar graphics groups, so why not ours? > >> > >>So it is unfortunate, but at least taking the extra precautions I > >>mentioned will help afford some privacy. > >> > >>Cheers. > >> > >>Claudia > >>"Selocic" > >>- 3D: when 'Flat' just isn't good enough! - > > -- > > Peter MacDougall > pem@(protected) > http://www3.telus.net/pem/index.htm > > Reality always exceeds your expectations. >
-- ---- ---- ---- ------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor -- ---- ---- ---- --~--> Get Bzzzy! (real tools to help you find a job). Welcome to the Sweet Life. http://us.click.yahoo.com/A77XvD/vlQLAA/TtwFAA/_iFolB/TM -- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- -----~->
Welcome Yahoo Members!
http://www.eovia.com Yahoo! Groups Links
<*> To visit your group on the web, go to: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Carrara/
<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to: Carrara-unsubscribe@(protected)
<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to: http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
Earn $52 per hosting referral at Lunarpages.
|
|
 |