  | |  | Re: Possible Email Worm Transmission | Re: Possible Email Worm Transmission
2004-07-01 - By Cecilia Ziemer
Back Hi Claudia,
The ISP has a fine set of filters (they grab baddies, scour them
down, and send me notice that they 've sequestered-) and I have gool '
ol ' Norton and Virex which are fairly current, but I will check out
MailWasher--even on OS 9 and using an e-mailer that opens nothing
automatically there can 't be too many virus sniffers. Thank you!
As far as I know none of the current viruses/worms/nastinesses(huh?)
can be passed Windows- >Mac- >Windows, but I don 't wanna be the
guinea-pig on that one when someone decides there are still enough
Mac users to wreak a little havoc with.
There 's a sparrow nesting in the downspout-elbow over my front door
Cheers!
Cecilia
>-- -----
>
>Long time, no hear.
>
>I can 't emphasize enough the use of an interceptive mail filtering
>program such as MailWasher. The 2.0 version is free and allows you
>from your computer to set up filters and browse mail on your ISP 's
>server, BEFFORE it gets to your inbox. That way, you can delete the
>bad e-mail and not have to worry about it ever causing havoc on your
>computer. I don 't know if there is a MAC version, but it is worth a
>looking into. The 2.0 version is limited to one inbox.
>
> <http://www.vnunet.com/downloads/1133826 >
>
>Hope things get better for you with your mail situation.
>
>Cheers.
>
>Claudia
> "Selocic "
>- 3D: when 'Flat ' just isn 't good enough! -
>
>--- In Carrara@(protected), Cecilia Ziemer <ziemer@(protected) > wrote:
> > Yep, you 've been spoofed.
> >
> > I 'm also on a Mac (OS 9.2 for mail) and have been receiving ads and
> > worse from my own address - ISP told me my address was probably
> > collected when a Win. address book was raided. I still feel slimed!
> >
> > Address doesn 't have to be on your machine--it just has to exist
> > somewhere: it 'll be found.
> >
> > So if the yahoo lists have been harvested, too, we can expect more
>of this.
> > Aren 't we lucky?!
> > > > >snarl < < <
> >
> >
> > On Wed, 30 Jun 2004 02:26:22, richardsan wrote:
> >
> > >hey doug!
> > >that 's weird, i know someone i can send it to, to check out, can i have
> > >it please?
> > >lol
> > >i 'm on a mac, as well....
> > >someone on the lightwave list said they rec 'd an email from me with
> > >some sort of message like:
> > > "...waiting for reply and the password is :73490 (or so) "
> > >
> > >yahoolists are getting harvested for stuff...
> > > 'someone ' is up to something...
> > >
> > >On Jun 30, 2004, at 1:47 AM, Douglas Alden Peterson wrote:
> > >
> > > > Gang,
> > > >
> > > > A list member has informed me that he received an
> > > > email titled "Incoming message " from me which has
> > > > a file named "details.exe " attached to it. If you get
> > > > this, too, don 't open it. He tells me it 's a worm.
> > > >
> > > > I didn 't send it. I 'm on Mac and his email address
> > > > wasn 't even on my machine so it probably means
> > > > I 'm being spoofed and the file is being sent to others
> > > > on the list, too.
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Doug
> > > > --
> > > > Douglas Alden Peterson
> > > > Graphic Designer
> > > > Visualeyes, Brighton, MI USA
> > > >
> > >
> > > "that 's our boy...put out...the cheese "
> > >
> > >a boy and his dog
> > >
>
>
>
>
>Welcome Yahoo Members!
>SPECIAL OFFER
>Go to this link for more details.
>http://www.eovia.com/offers/yahooForum.jsp
>
>
>
>
>
>Yahoo! Groups Links
>
>
>
>
-- ---- ---- ---- ------ Yahoo! Groups Sponsor -- ---- ---- ---- --~-- >
Make a clean sweep of pop-up ads. Yahoo! Companion Toolbar.
Now with Pop-Up Blocker. Get it for free!
http://us.click.yahoo.com/L5YrjA/eSIIAA/yQLSAA/_iFolB/TM
-- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- ---- -----~- >
Welcome Yahoo Members!
SPECIAL OFFER
Go to this link for more details.
http://www.eovia.com/offers/yahooForum.jsp
Yahoo! Groups Links
<* > To visit your group on the web, go to:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Carrara/
<* > To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
Carrara-unsubscribe@(protected)
<* > Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
|
|
 |